, attached to 1995-06-16

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, FRIDAY 06/16/1995
Raleigh, NC
Soundcheck: Caravan, Three Little Birds, Free, Funky Bitch, Jam

SET 1:

Halley's Comet: Standard. >

Down with Disease: Standard. >

Esther: Treys ending solo is on point. >

Ya Mar: Standard.

Cry Baby Cry: Nice – not to be seen again until 11.21.98.

It's Ice: Standard. >

My Mind's Got a Mind of its Own: Standard.

Dog Faced Boy: LOL, they try and start up SOAMelt twice and Fish screws it up, so they do this instead. Fish “Sorry, trying to get my foot started. ->

Catapult: Standard. >

Split Open and Melt: Chunky and muddy middle passage. Intense. Mad dash ending. Strong Melt, would recommend.

SET 2:

Runaway Jim: Incredible. Gets way, way out there. Intense. Dark. Creepy. Evil. Scary vocal jam. Easy all timer and highly recommended. The segue into Free is awesome. ->

Free: Below average. Slow and uninspired.

Carolina: Standard.

You Enjoy Myself[1] Fun special guest.

The Squirming Coil: Beautiful Page solo!


Bold As Love: Awesome in this slot as always.

Summary: Cool and unique first set. All timer Jim. 4/5.

Replay Value: Split Open and Melt, Runaway Jim

[1] Boyd Tinsley on fiddle.

Halley's Comet was preceded by "Charge!" teases from Trey. Dog Faced Boy was preceded by several false starts of Split Open And Melt by Fish. YEM featured Boyd Tinsley on fiddle for a portion of the jam. The YEM vocal jam contained a Lovin' You (Minnie Riperton) quote from Fish.
Esther, It's Ice, Split Open and Melt, Runaway Jim, You Enjoy Myself
Charge! tease, Lovin' You quote in You Enjoy Myself


Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2024  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode