7-23-03 - Verizon Wireless Music Center, Noblesville, IN

review submisions to me at [email protected], [email protected], [email protected]

please review the show, not the other reviews....

Date: Thu, 05 Feb 2004 17:20:04 -0700 From: eric tipton Subject: Re: Phish 7/23/03 review from Phish.net: 07/23/03 - Verizon Wireless Music Center - Noblesville, Indiana Set 1: Scents & Subtle Sounds > Theme from the Bottom, Rift > Sample in a Jar, Sneaking Sally Through the Alley, Billy Breathes, Seven Below, Cavern Set 2: Down With Disease, Squirming Coil, Makisupa Policeman, Buffalo Bill, Run Like An Antelope*, Thunderhead, Slave to the Traffic Light Encore: Waste * dedicated to Greg. Trey begins song by saying: "Don't let it get you down..."" Obviously expectations were running really high after the past two nights behind us. I was hoping we would not see a letdown on night three like the '00 run here. Some people will tell you '03 night three was a letdown, but I won't be one of those people. First Set: Scents and Subtle Sounds: Wow, big, huge gamble by the band opening w/ this newbie tune in the face of the aforementioned expectations. But you have to love the willingness Phish has to take chances. This Scents is not for the the faint of heart. It jams way out there, a good twenty minutes or so. I personally loved it but I'm sure many will not agree w/ that sentiment. Very sweet segue into > Theme: Woo hoo! Would it be as good as Philly from February? Not even close. But I love this tune when it's played just a couple of times a tour. Good Theme. Rift: Good not great Rift. Still chasing that 100% clean Rift that I have not heard since 96. This must be such a difficult song to play! Sample: Eh, it's Sample. Again. Sneaking Sally: Nice, another one we've been calling for all tour! This Sally like Scents is not for the faint of heart. Jammed out like there is no tomorrow. Definitely the highlight of the set for me. I happened to be at the 12/30/97 bust out of Sally. 7/23 is just a tad behind that one in my book. Very sweet jam. Billy Breathes: Minor flubs, not used to hearing difficulties w/ this tune so it was a little distracting for me. 7 Bel ow: Very standard and short. Nothing to write home about. Cavern: Ah Trey, you've been practicing haven't you. Quite the improvement over the debacle that was the Bonner Springs Cavern. Setbreak, First set highlights: Scents and Sneaking Sally. Fairly choppy first set. Second Set: DWD: Great way to start off the last set of the Crick run! At 9.5 minutes it goes off into some more introspective space but by 13 minutes is backto it's nasty old jamming self. At 19 minutes it calms down again and is over and done at 21 minutes with no return to the theme and no segue either. Kind of disappointing if you ask me. Coil: Odd choice if you ask me. Save this for the encore but second song second set? Me no likey the placement. At all. Makisupa: This song was quite appropriate for what happened to my dumb ass friend Pat during it! We were set up on Page side, 20 rows back; close to the aisle. He was quite open about his "smoking" and subsequently had his piece taken. Dumbass! Hilarious Makisupa w/ this as the keyword: Thought I'd write a letter to my good friends Max Creek. I said Dear Creek. [Long Pause] Then I smoked some Pot! Funny shit! Killer segue into > (Phish.net has no segue listed, again w/ the crack smoking!) Buffalo Bill: Great segue, wow! Short and sweet. Antelope: Big dedication goes out to Antelope Greg from Trey. I heard some crazy rumors about what actually happened to him but will not speculate to those rumors here on the board til I hear some sort of solid confirmation on it. This 'lope gets pretty mellow around the five minute mark and you can tell the boys are just settling in and will rip it in a few! At 8 minutes it slowly begins to crank back up. Page hits a really nice stride at 9:50 w/ Trey playing behind him. By 10:30 it's back to machine gun Trey, shooting holes in my brain! Nice tension and release. Sweet Antelope. Thunderhead: Whatchyou talkin' 'bout Willis? This can't possibly be the set closer? Right? Guys? Someone hold me! [wink.gif] Slave: Fuckin-A-doody! I don't care what you say, it does not possibly get any better than being at Deer Creek night 3 seeing Slave to close out the run. Magical. Apparently the fellas read my mind and decide to melt me once again (seemed to me a constant theme for me during these shows at the Crick [wink.gif] ). At seven minutes Trey breaks my trance and starts machine gunning Slave the way it's meant to be! Nice, progressive build up here. Trey's solo is completely irrepressible. Was it as good 12/97? Course not. But I liked this version more than the Utah version if that means anything. Encore: Waste: Well, at least I'm going onto Charlotte is what I first thought. However, it was played well and with plenty of feeling. Second set highlights: DWD (sorta), the Makisupa>Buff Bill segue, Antelope, SLAVE . What can I say? It was wonderful being back at Deer Creek amongst so many great people. This was probably, no definitely; the most fun I had on the whole tour - the experience as a whole is a must have for any serious Phish fan. Everything comes together here and you need to see it for yourself. Tipton-o-meter: 7.2 peace, et
Date: Fri, 25 Jul 2003 21:18:35 -0400 From: Schoenherr Subject: review 07-23-03 DEER CREEK 3RD NIGHT----great end to a great three night run. this show was top notch!! i know a lot of phans are not fond of scents & subtle sounds as an opener but how could you not like this one. 20 mins of new exploritory jamming. after the opener the standards started flowing with the likes of rift and sample. the first set pleaser would have to be SALLY, can you say FUNK GROOVE!!!! after all that cavern took us home for the break. set two DOWN W/ DISEASE>JAM>JAM>JAM>the most intense glow stick war fueled by the disease that was phishes experimentation with hard core jazz meats funk rock. if you were on the lawn you know what i'm talkin about. squirming coil,( i was callin for it to end the first set so it was a great surprise to get early in the second. trey and page really played a beautiful peace at the end. makisupa>buffalo bill.TREY>"I wrote a letter to my friend max creek. I satrted it deer creek..... great pun. great time.ANTELOPE THIS NIGHT = INTENSE!!!!!.. thunderhead was great, i just love the little guitar riff. SLAVE to bring the house down. waste encore. people this was a great three night run.if you were there consider yourself very lucky.thank you phish for a great week of phun in the sun. Peace dan
Date: Fri, 25 Jul 2003 15:26:24 -0500 From: [email protected] Subject: Review of 7/23/2003 - Deer Creek Ahh, the third night in a row at beautiful Deer Creek, Indiana. The weather has been absolutely beautiful all three nights. Life was good as Phish started into Scents and Subtle Sounds. This song is a nice new one, better than most on Round Room and the jam was nice, just a little too long for this song as an opener. Then Theme, Rift, Sample, all nice versions. The highlight of the first set was the Sneakin^ Sally, the jam was super tight and very funky and bluesy. Then Billy Breathes was nice and chill as usual as was seven below. Cavern has always been a high energy set closer, and this one proved to be just that. After a chill first set, the band opened the second with DWD. This song is always high energy and great, especially as the second set opener. Then a Squirming Coil, Page kicked ass on this one as usual. Then came a funny and entertaining Makisupa. The keyword was Trey saying something like ^I have a friend named Max Creek, so I wrote a letter to him and it said Deer Creek^,^ and then I smoked some pot^ I always thought Makisupa would segue well into Buffalo Bill and it sure did on this night. Looked like they let Fish pick the song so he started the semi-drum solo start of Buffalo Bill. This song is starting to become somewhat traditional at Deer Creek as the last time they played it was here in 2000 and they don^t play it too often. Onto the jam starting Antelope. This Antelope had some crazy peaks that left people, including myself, going holy shit! An amazing Antelope. Then into the Thunderhead instrumental and closed the set with Slave, a great set closer in my opinion. No encore could top that set so they played Waste, which I think is always a beautiful song, I don^t know about it as an encore, but who cares. After 3 nights at Deer Creek, you look back and think of all the great music you have heard and great times you have had. I feel they played an excellent run of 3 shows, all with their highlights, ups, and downs, which is what makes a Phish show so great. I hope everyone has a great time throughout the rest of the tour and in Maine. - cspear
Date: Thu, 24 Jul 2003 20:56:15 -0700 (PDT) From: ed izsak Subject: review of 07-23-03 After two solid nights expectations were running high for another amazing night. Unfortunately the boys were in sleep mode from the get-go. Sense and subtle sounds was a 20 minute dirge. The energy was just ripped out of the crowd. The set got going only with the sneaking sally. Each songs seemed have a very slow jam in it that just kept the crowd and the boys from building any positive energy. Disease is always nice but again a slow jam kept it from being all that. Coil is best used as a set closer because of the piano jam at the end. Makisupa is without a doubt the most overrated song in Phish catalog. After the vocals,it is basically a slow reggae rhythm that goes nowhere. Only a stoned hippie would appreciate this song. Thunderhead and Slave and then the encore of Waste kept to the theme of slow songs and jams. Very boring. Probably the worst Phish show i have seen since i started seeing them in 1991. I think the best set of the three nights was first set of the first night. The band had no where to go but down. peace, ed izsak ===== peace will come with tranquility and splendor on the wheels of fire- bd
Date: Thu, 24 Jul 2003 12:27:47 -0500 From: Jason Boley Subject: 7/23/03 review I'm not much for writing reviews, but I enjoy reading them and felt compelled to comment on last night. Once again, the boys put on a solid show. Monday's show was just phenomenal, so it was impressive to me to see them improve on that show on both Tuesday and Wednesday. The culmination was second set Wednesday, and I thought it was the most solid set of the three days. I started out the show in about the 14th row and was really excited. That stopped after the first few songs though. People were really annoying and there were a lot of younger people on X around us giving the security guards crap, so my girlfriend and I headed back to the lawn for the second set. It was a much more mellow scene and you could enjoy the lights more. Without giving a full review, I'll just say 'Scents and Subtle Sounds' was great. I think this song will grow into something great over time. I had never heard it before, but it seems to continue a recent theme of theirs where the songs are divided into two parts: one really slow and beautiful part at the beginning which leads into a second part of the song which serves as a jam vehicle and a way to bring the crowd up. Works fine for me. The whole second set was a dream, and it was a good one. I was really surprised that they brought out Makisupa so soon again, but it was a great version, and Trey was really funny during his line. Bill was an old treat. But really what this review is about is the Antelope. This was why I will download the show. It was not a particularly long Antelope, but I've never seen it raise to this kind of crescendo before. It was truly amazing. I hope it comes through on tape, because the lights were a big part of it, but it was truly an amazing Antelope. They dedicated it to someone named Greg, and I think Greg was probably pretty damned happy. I was speechless. Then they followed with Slave, and I was mesmerized. This was a rock solid second set. What a great run. So good to see so many come out and have a great time. I hope everyone has a great time in Maine! ________________________ Jason Boley
click here to return to the 2003 reviews page